Author Topic: Theories on Neil  (Read 13476 times)

Lunaramon

• Tier 2
Theories on Neil
« on: December 18, 2017, 12:43:53 PM »
This is my first time making one of these so I apologize if this theory sounds a bit off the rail.

MAJOR SPOILERS FOR BOTH FINDING PARADISE AND TO THE MOON!!!

At the end of Finding Paradise, we learn that Neil has actually saved Fay's data (this happened when she was temporarily frozen thanks to the sedatives Eva injected into Colin) and he's concluded that she's some kind of solution. We also know the two doctors decided to give Fay, the one who was manifested from Colin himself, the power to grant him his wish. Compared to the first game, we see that Fay left almost all of his memories the same but even then he was still satisfied with his life.

Note: as far as we know, this is the first instance the patient was given the power to grant their own wish. I know it technically wasn't Colin consciously doing it himself but Fay is basically a part of his mind...it's a bit confusing but I hope this sort of makes sense.

What if Neil was working on a more sophisticated way of granting wishes? Even when doctors dive into their patient's mind and "relive" their entire life they may not truly understand what's best for the patient. Yes, they experience the patient's entire life through memories but not even they can delve into their client's deepest thoughts. So what if he was looking for a way to tap into the patient's unconscious mind and utilize it to give the patient what they really want instead of erasing and rewriting their entire life just to fit a desire that the doctors concluded from their observations?