Author Topic: Funny story that happened in Japanese class  (Read 4858 times)

TheFlyingMarlin

• Tier 5
  • Current Mood: unmotivated unmotivated
Funny story that happened in Japanese class
« on: August 25, 2015, 12:27:06 AM »
This happened last November, around a month after the first (and so far only) time I played To the Moon, and a couple days after A Bird Story was released (I think I had already played it). I was sort of obsessed with TtM at this point, but I think it was this event that really sparked my obsession with the game. I've meant to post it here ever since I joined Freebirdia, and I've put it off for long enough. I'm probably gonna rewrite a few parts for the sake of better wording tomorrow morning, but anyway, here goes:

First here's a bit of a backstory: I am a college/university (whatever word your country uses) student and I recently finished my freshman year. As many of you know, I am studying Japanese. My college is fairly small (3000 students in 4 years), and thus the average class size is quite small. My first semester Japanese class had around 20 students, many of whom are otakus to some extent. Our professor was/is a very amicable, funny guy who really enjoyed communicating with his students, and his class is always very informal (unfortunately he's teaching at a different university next year). Our classroom has a projector and screen, and the walls act as giant whiteboards so students can write things.

Now for the actual story.

The professor had just showed us a PowerPoint on the use of the particle に (ni) and how it can indicate location as well as a point in time, as well as the term 好き (suki), which is used to express desire or liking . He then projected some English sentences that we were supposed to translate into Japanese and write on the whiteboard walls, such as  "In 2010, I went to Tokyo" and "I like to go to class" and stuff like that. The final slide showed a sentence that went something like this: