Author Topic: CBS Switcher  (Read 2961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vasha

  • 小説家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 10734
  • Gender: Male
  • Relentlessly Gay
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Mood: blank blank
CBS Switcher
« on: July 23, 2009, 03:13:30 PM »
Yeah... i need more help... :D

I need a script that will let me switch between two different CBSes whenever I want in-game. I know that the GTBS from creation asylum can do something like this, but I don't know how to do it with any other battle systems.

My Battle Systems (both from CA):
Nick's Tactical Battle System
Charlie Lee's CBS (i don't know any more spicifics, i think it's final fantasy related?)

Other Scripts I'm using:
Ccoa's Weather Script (i can probably get rid of that, though, not sure if i'll need it)
SandGolem's Invulnerability State Script
RPGAdvocate's Advanced Shop Script
Punk's Title Script
Ccoa's Umiversal Message Script
Catchm's ffx-2 Custom Menu System
Cogwheel's Hp/SP/EXP Bars Script

Please help!

EDIT: I asked creation asylum already, but I didn't give them much detail. Would it seem weird at all to ask them again, just giving more detail this time?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 04:35:42 PM by Vasha »

mepwnn

  • いつまでも
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 10988
  • Gender: Male
  • profile picture courtesy of Silentgears
  • Current Mood: happy happy
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2009, 02:11:19 AM »
(Didn't you ask about this already?)

Um, I asked my brother about this a while ago. I think he said something about script snippets or modifications. I doubt a current script exists that allows the use of two different CBSes, unless one is an evented one like Quintessence.

I'll ask him tomorrow, he's already asleep ^^'

PS: I think the TBS isn't compatible with any other script modifying Scene_Battle, namely the other CBS and Cogwheel's HP/SP/EXP bars. I recommend just sticking to one CBS.

Spoiler: just some other stuff • show
The TBS is known to crash, as it is still a beta, just so you know, there's an item glitch that crashes the game and a pathfinding error at some points. So... :P
Portals... must capture... ALL the portals... (click image to enlarge)

Vasha

  • 小説家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 10734
  • Gender: Male
  • Relentlessly Gay
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Mood: blank blank
Re: CBS Switcher (Resolved, kind of)
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2009, 10:32:27 AM »
Crap...

well i was going to use the GTBS, but it has a huge glitch for me that crashes whenever somebody does a basic attack...

And for the idea that i'm having for my game, one CBS wouldn't work. I could try the evented battles though, that could definitely work.

thanks anyways

(did i already ask this? woops)

Sarkilas

  • *
  • Tier 6
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • That guy
  • Current Mood: creative creative
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2009, 03:42:48 PM »
I know this is like an old topic, sort of, but I just wanted to inform that if both scenes have the same class constant (Scene_Battle most likely), you just change one of them into something else and call it manually through a script to use the other system (not flagged as Scene_Battle). The one flagged as Scene_Battle will always be called when using the event option.

Just a reminder:p it's not hard to make this work, and the scripts shouldn't clash, as they won't (usually) demand the same configurations and stuff if they are seperate constants. There's a possibility for that as well, though, so don't take my word for it being easy in all cases.

/Sark, the necroposting faggot :l

Need scripting help? Toss me a PM and I'll see what I can do.
Also able to help with anything RMXP related. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Vasha

  • 小説家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 10734
  • Gender: Male
  • Relentlessly Gay
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Mood: blank blank
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2009, 08:26:24 PM »
It's not that bad to necropost. Like I've been told when I talked about that, there's no rules here against necro-posting. :reivsmile:

Anyways, I have absolutely no scripting know-how. How do you change which class it references? i think that's what your saying) And what would u enter into the 'call script' option to call it?

Thanks, sark, you awesome necroposter! :vikonsmile:

Sarkilas

  • *
  • Tier 6
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • That guy
  • Current Mood: creative creative
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2009, 07:16:08 AM »
The class constants must be changed. Per say, the battle scripts will have a class definition such as:
Code: [Select]
class Scene_BattleYou change this definition into something else for the other battle system you want to use. Let's say you use Scene_Battle2, the call code would be something like this:
Code: [Select]
$game_temp.battle_abort = true
$game_temp.battle_calling = true
$game_temp.battle_troop_id = 1
$game_temp.battle_can_escape = true
$game_temp.battle_can_lose = false
$scene = Scene_Battle2.new
You can, obviously, change all the values into whatever you like.

There's an easier and more effecient way, however. Make a switch called Second Battle or something. Go into Scene_Map, find this line:
Code: [Select]
$scene = Scene_Battle.newChange this line into this block:
Code: [Select]
if $game_switches[1] #change this ID into your switch ID
  $scene = Scene_Battle2.new
else
  $scene = Scene_Battle.new
end
So you can still use the event command at event page 3, just that when you enable the battle switch, it will go to the second battle system instead of the main one.

/Sark

Need scripting help? Toss me a PM and I'll see what I can do.
Also able to help with anything RMXP related. Please do not hesitate to ask.

Vasha

  • 小説家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 10734
  • Gender: Male
  • Relentlessly Gay
    • My Tumblr
  • Current Mood: blank blank
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2009, 04:47:36 PM »
Sweet, that'll be really helpful, then. i don't have to try and event the crazy hard battle system that i was thinking about :reivsmile:

Sarkilas

  • *
  • Tier 6
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • Gender: Male
  • That guy
  • Current Mood: creative creative
Re: CBS Switcher
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2009, 04:59:36 PM »
But as I stated earlier, if the two battle systems override each others' configurations, this might cause errors even with different constants.

Hope it works though, glad to help :reivsmile:

Need scripting help? Toss me a PM and I'll see what I can do.
Also able to help with anything RMXP related. Please do not hesitate to ask.