Author Topic: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup  (Read 5263 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tekworm

  • Tier 2
  • *
  • Posts: 8
I have tried this in the past and had the same problem, this is maybe the 3rd time I'm making a go at playing To The Moon.  My probelm is that the game, when I load it, is just a black square in a window, which in second or two turns gray, with an eternal loading cursor.  I have no audio and cannot press F1 to do anything, it just sits there..I can't even move the window around if I grab it by the title bar.  It turns to "not responding" when I click the red x to close it and I get an error..following are the details:  Description:
  A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   AppHangB1
  Application Name:   To the Moon.exe
  Application Version:   1.0.0.1
  Application Timestamp:   40d19497
  Hang Signature:   1546
  Hang Type:   0
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Hang Signature 1:   1546e9e88e10ed07299a1225538a85a1
  Additional Hang Signature 2:   4dc9
  Additional Hang Signature 3:   4dc96638d389d5c6807b958cd7f9c2a2
  Additional Hang Signature 4:   1546
  Additional Hang Signature 5:   1546e9e88e10ed07299a1225538a85a1
  Additional Hang Signature 6:   4dc9
  Additional Hang Signature 7:   4dc96638d389d5c6807b958cd7f9c2a2

This happens with the standalone version.  With the steam version, (yes I purchased both) it doesn't even give me the gray screen or the error, it just stays black until I end process.  With both versions after I hit end process its a good 30 seconds to a minute until the window actually goes away.

The Mirror Lied also does not work, giving me the following error:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   Game.exe
  Application Version:   1.0.0.1
  Application Timestamp:   40d19497
  Fault Module Name:   StackHash_2264
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   00000000
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   0038b530
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   2264
  Additional Information 2:   2264db07e74365624c50317d7b856ae9
  Additional Information 3:   875f
  Additional Information 4:   875fa2ef9d2bdca96466e8af55d1ae6e

And finally To The Moon demo gives me:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   To the Moon.exe
  Application Version:   1.0.0.1
  Application Timestamp:   40d19497
  Fault Module Name:   StackHash_2264
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   00000000
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   02d3b530
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   2264
  Additional Information 2:   2264db07e74365624c50317d7b856ae9
  Additional Information 3:   875f
  Additional Information 4:   875fa2ef9d2bdca96466e8af55d1ae6e

I have tried:
1.  Unintstalling and upgrading to the latest ffdshow.
2.  Adding DEP exceptions.
3.  Reinstalling multiple times and verifying integrity via Steam.
4.  Creating a shortcut and running as administrator and with windows xp compatibility mode.
5.  Updating windows..I have all the latest windows updates.

And now for the very bizarre part..sometimes via Steam, the game DOES work, but VERY rarely.  I've sat there and tried to load the game, then end process over and over and it wont work..then sometimes, seemingly randomly, it will work.  I very very much want to play this game as I love the art style and music direction that I saw..and I've heard so many beautiful things about it.  If anyone has any advice, I'd love to hear it.  I have my DxDiag.txt with my system information but it's very long.  I will just give a brief summary of my system for what it's worth.

CPU - AMD FX-8350 4.01ghz
M/B - Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
RAM - G.SKILL PC3-12800 4gbx2
HDD - 1TB WD Cavi
VID - Nvidia GeForce GTX 680 2gb

Not sure what other information would help and I apologize for such a long post but I hope I can get some advice.  I want to play!!




Just Lance

  • 狼と冒険家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 18635
  • Gender: Male
  • Commodore of Freebirdia Orbital Defense Fleet
  • Current Mood: perverse perverse
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 12:10:35 PM »
Well it would also help to know which Win OS are you running.
Quote
"God, it's so hard to be a smartass nowadays." Dr. Neil Watts (To the Moon)

tekworm

  • Tier 2
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2013, 03:32:07 PM »
I'm so sorry, my fault....I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit Retail Edition Service Pack 1.  I purchased it through a university so it was one of those OEM disc packages.  Sorry about leaving that out.  Thanks for the prompt reply.

Just Lance

  • 狼と冒険家
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 18635
  • Gender: Male
  • Commodore of Freebirdia Orbital Defense Fleet
  • Current Mood: perverse perverse
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2013, 03:53:35 PM »
Hmm I'm running similar setup though much less powerful (AMD CPU on Asus Motherboard with 8GB Corsair RAM and overclocked GTX 650 Win 7 Pro also provided by my Uni) and don't have any problems. My first try would be an Win XP compatibility mode because RMXP is a 10 year old engine to start with but I see you already tried that one out... But I don't use ffdshow but I have doubts it's that simple...
If everything fails The solution might be in Virtual Box if you have an XP disc and key you could create a virtual PC with XP that I believe should bypass most common problems with games incompatibility with new software because generally it's not an HW issue though I'm not ruling that one out.
Those are my two cents anyway can't think of much else right now... (Oh... That late already? O.O)
Quote
"God, it's so hard to be a smartass nowadays." Dr. Neil Watts (To the Moon)

tekworm

  • Tier 2
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 07:33:46 PM »
Ok..so maybe I can get my hands on an XP disc..I'm sure I can dig one up from somewhere...I'll check into the virtual PC method you mentioned..thanks!  Ill let you know.


I can't seem to dig up a Windows XP disc anywhere so I may have to purchase one from a local office supply store.  I'll give it a week or so to see if anyone else can shed some light here, if not I'll take the plunge on a Windows XP disc. 

Again, if ANYONE has had any issues with this game failing to run at all...just a black window thats stuck there until you kill it, PLEASE give me whatever experiences you had with it.  Thank you all for being kind!
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 09:17:36 AM by tekworm »

dongonzo

  • Tier 1
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2013, 09:07:28 AM »
It is a possibility that a required file for this game on the Windows O/S end of things has somehow gotten corrupted over time. The C0....5 error is an access violation, I believe involved with memory allocation-- though I'm not an expert on the subject.

Running windows file checker wouldn't do any harm in making sure things are in order on the Operating System side of things.

Start -> run -> cmd -> right click cmd -> run as administrator
sfc /scannow

It's possible it may want to do it at the next boot due to some files already being active.

Aside from that, it is a foregone conclusion that the drivers for audio and video are in order? If you look at them with device manager there are no little yellow !'s next to devices?

I run this game on x64 Windows 7 pro with no compatibility modes and it runs just fine, so installing an XP VM shouldn't solve the problem unless the problem was with a file misbehaving in W7 and being ... circumvented by the virtual machine.

tekworm

  • Tier 2
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2019, 05:04:57 AM »
Thanks..finally got it working!

Kyo

  • no title at all
  • *
  • Tier 7
  • **
  • Posts: 1252
  • Gender: Male
  • Current Mood: evil evil
Re: At my wit's end and DYING to play..black screen/no audio, instant lockup
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2019, 10:49:20 AM »
Wow, and it only took 5 years!

Spoiler: show
I had to wait 10 years to play Tales of Vesperia though.

 


* Recent Media