Games & Design > RM[XP/VX] and Game Design

Where to Start?

(1/1)

Andri:
So lately I've been playing around with RPG Maker XP and VX. I'm a complete noob and I don't really know where to start LOL. Since this forum is filled with talented people, may I ask for advice of where to start in my adventure of video game design? I don't have experience at all with programming or designing, but video game is my passion and I've been playing ever since the days of Nintendo.  :)

Question, Mark V:
Seeing as it's an adventure game, I'd suggest starting with the story. Get a quick rundown of it. Who are the main characters? What is the story about? What happens to the story? (e.g. short bullet-point version of the entire story)

From then on, you can probably decide on what the core gameplay mechanic's going to be like. (i.e. if it's a zombie thing, you'll probably go with the limited items and scavenging for starters) Do mind that I didn't say that the story is fleshed out yet. You just had enough story material to come up with the accompanying gameplay. From then on, change/edit/refine/tune your story and gameplay as you develop it, coming up with new, better ideas while trashing out those that no longer fit as your project evolves.